BOISE, Idaho. - Idaho women who miscarry before their pregnancies reach 20 weeks may soon be able to get a death certificate, if a bill approved for further debate in a House committee becomes law.
Midvale Republican Rep. Judy Boyle told the House State Affairs Committee Wednesday such an "early fetal death certificate" would be voluntary for women who lose their fetuses early in their pregnancies.
The committee voted unanimously to give the bill a hearing. Current Idaho law gives women the option of obtaining a death certificate if they miscarry after 20 weeks gestation. The death is not recorded by the Department of Vital Statistics, but a stillbirth certificate can be obtained for $13.
Stories of Pregnancy & Birth over 44y
- Daily blog of hope & inspiration!
4,800 Stories of Pregnancy & Birth over 44y
Daily blog of hope & inspiration!
You Can Get Pregnant in Your 40's
Sharing articles, discussing options & suggestions